Forgiveness#4

Dad I forgive You

Scripture

Lion of Judah
Lion & Lamb

For You, O Lord, are good, and ready to forgive

[our trespasses,sending them away,

letting them go completely and forever];

and You are abundant in mercy and loving-kindness

to all those who call upon You. (Ps 86:5 Amp).

16 Turn Yourself to me, and have mercy on me,

For I am desolate and afflicted.

17 The troubles of my heart have enlarged;
Bring me out of my distresses!
18 Look on my affliction and my pain,
And forgive all my sins.(Ps 25:16-18 NKJ)

Blessed (happy, fortunate, to be envied) is he who has forgiveness

           of his transgression continually exercised upon him, whose sin is covered.(Ps 32:1 Amp).

Some Examples

Found on rainingtruthsmallrain.wordpress.com
Father Forgive

Before I touch on me forgiving my dad, I’d like to briefly look at some examples, in Scripture concerning forgiveness. There are countless examples, in Scripture, where forgiveness was given and provided. We shall try listing and looking at some of them. Although we are unable to forgive in the natural, our Lord is willing, and able to forgive us, our sin.

One of these examples are found in Genesis, where we see Jacob (Israel) & Esau forgiving each other. Briefly we read of their birth, as they were twins. At their birth they wrestled one another. The Word the Lord gave Isaac and Rebekah, was they would both become fathers of nations. But at their birth the one (Jacob) held Esau’s heel.The word was that two nations were birthed in her, the elder shall serve the younger.

When Isaac’s years were drawing to an end he asked Esau, to hunt and prepare venison(game); for him(for Esau had been a skilled hunter). Rebekah heard their conversation, then asked Jacob to prepare a meal for Isaac. Jacob reluctantly heeded his mother’s voice. Then he took hold of Esau’s blessing. Remember; Esau had been the eldest, by maybe a few minutes. Thus the blessing would rightfully be his. Yet earlier, he gave up his birthright, for a bowl of broth. In so doing he gave this right of his to Jacob. Now he loses his blessing to Jacob. When finding this out, he became livid. He threatened to take Jacob’s life. Because of these threats, Jacob had to flee, for his life.

Now after a very long time (20 years), Jacob felt impressed, to return to his home. Esau hearing this, was ready to do Jacob harm. During the course of time, the Lord dealt with both Jacob and Esau. We know Jacob wrestled with an angel of the Lord, at Jabbok ford. This had been one of those turning points in his life. Often as Jacob; we wrestle with God, at our own Jabbok ford. Here the Lord changes his name from Jacob(Deceiver); to that of Israel (contender; prince, with God). He wrestled both, with God and man, prevailing over them, therefore the Lord changed his name to Israel. (Note: –  According to scripture,  and other records; we see name changes, are part of covenant. More about this later).

He went on further with his journey. On the horizon, he saw his brother Esau, with a company of 400 men. Due to his fear of Esau; Jacob divided his company. On approaching one another, Esau ran, embracing Jacob forgiving him. Through these actions, our Lord reconciled, the two estranged brothers, with one another. Jacob; was later instructed, by God, to return to Bethel. Here he made an altar, in remembrance of his vow, which he made before the Lord; his God. Here our Lord; once more affirmed, His Covenant with Jacob, confirming Jacob’s name change, to Israel. From this time on Jacob, would be known as Israel (contender  with God) (see Gen 25:25-35).

God’s Willingness 

Forgiveness
Covenants of God

Here we see God’s willingness to forgive Israel, despite their faults. Even so when we are willing, ready to forgive, great is God’s reward toward us. We see God’s Love toward Jacob (Israel), be manifested through His Promise which, He made to Abraham. God is always willing, ready, to forgive us, show His Love toward us. When we readily confess, with our mouth; Jesus Christ is Lord and believe in our heart God raised Him from the Grave (raised Jesus Christ, from the dead); we shall be saved. Also when we (readily, freely) admit  that we have sinned confessing our sins, He (our Lord) is Faithful and Just to forgive us our sins. (See 1 Jn 1:8-10).

There are other examples, found in Scripture, concerning forgiveness. We find the following examples. Remember eve’ryone of their situations were and are different. We see how Joseph forgave his brothers, for that which they had done to him. We see how his life speaks of God’s Goodness, shown towards Israel. David’s life speaks, greatly of God’s Love. Stephen was ready to forgive Saul (Paul), although he was been stoned. Christ, forgave our sin, when dying on the cross. Paul taught and lived in and through, the greatness of God’s, Grace, Mercy and Forgiveness. He had an intimate relationship, with God. These are just a few, whom had an intimate relationship with the Lord.

Our Lord always moves through His Love, Grace, Mercy, and Compassion. He is always ready, willing to forgive us our sins, when we call upon Him, (ie when we call upon His Name). His Love, Grace and Mercy endure forever. Remember God is Righteous, Just and Holy. He hates our sin, but Loves the sinner. We understand Faith, Hope and Love, endure forever! All the people who dilligently sought the Lord, were found by Him. We are reminded in Scripture when we seek Him early, earnestly, diligently & urgently, we’re sure to find Him. (See Deut 4:29-31; 2 Chron 15:1-7; 2 Chron 7:12-18; Ps 27: 7-8; Ps 63:1-3; Is 11:10-13; Is 55:6; Col 3:1-4 & Col 3:12-16).

God’s Love, Grace, Mercy & Forgiveness, is found in the Covenants which He had made. When Adam & Eve, messed up, our Lord was ready to find a way to restore us (His crown creation), back to Him. He let them know He was willing to reconcile us back with Him. Yet there would be a price to be paid. He pointed them to His Sacrificial Lamb. He showed them; His plan. He gave them His Prophetic Promise. Then He; spoke about the Seed of the woman; Whom would bruise the serpent’s head, & the serpent; would bruise His heel.

14 And the Lord God said to the serpent, Because you hav done this, you are cursed above all [domestic] animals and above every [wild] living thing of the field; upon your belly you shall go, and you shall eat dust [and what it contains] all the days of your life.15 And I will put enmity between you and the woman, and between your offspring and her Offspring; He will bruise and tread your head underfoot, and you will lie in wait and bruise His heel.(Gen 3:14-15 Amp).

21 For Adam also and for his wife the Lord God made long coats (tunics) of skins and clothed them. (Gen 3:15 Amp).

Dad I Forgive U

Christ Redeems us
Father Forgive Them

Now concerning, the matter of my forgiving my earthly father. When younger my dad and I couldn’t get along. Although he meant well, we seemed to have missed each other.  When young; we are not. always, ready to heed our parent’s advice, whom dearly love us. Often we may tend to follow our own heads. Try to make our own deductions, and end up doing our own thing. Only to no avail.

In our walk with our Lord, we have many tests and trials. We’re reminded that ouret faith is tried as gold is tried by fire, so that which is pure, would remain. When we have committed our lives, to the Lord, we are saved from sin’s hold o’er us. Ev’ry person, ev’ry family is unique. We are not perfect, or without sin. In ev’ry family there are differences. Differences of character, personality etc. Yet in our uniqueness, there are, both strengths and weaknesses. The Lord, uniquely created each of us. These make up ev’ry family’s individual, originality, strengths and weaknesses with which our Lord is able to work.

Although my dad & myself struggled to relate with each other, the Lord changed the situation around. Later when older, my dad and I, started to understand one another. Prior to this time; he had given his life to the Lord. During this season we drew nearer to one another. He shared a few things with me. He showed me where he grew up, including that which my grandad (whom I ne’er met), had been doing (not in detail tho’). He took me to his home town; and introduced me to some of his friends, with whom he grew up.

When I had to do my 1st military camp, in that year; my dad couldn’t handle it. He wasn’t able, to face, being alone. A year or two prior to this (after my 21st year), we lost my mom due to cancer. While she lay on her deathbed, the Lord allowed me the privelege, of leading her to Christ. So when she passed on, she entered into eternity; knowing Christ Jesus as Lord. Sometime after this my dad gave his heart to the Lord. Yet when I had to do my 1st camp, after my national service, he felt lonely, and had not able to handle the situation.

Dad, Farewell

Some weeks before the camp, I lost my dad. My dad struggled with depression, for many years. On more than one occassion, he had suffered nervous break downs. He had been treated for these ailments, for some time. Due to all these things, he saw no reason, or will to live. He gave up on life.  But the Lord never gave up on him. He’d been in a coma, for a while. Before he passed on; he came round for a short while; then apologised to all three of us, for that which he’d done. I believe the Lord gave him a chance to make right, ask for our forgiveness.

I walked around with this for many years. I never could cry straight away. After about five years, or so later, I went to the Garden of Memorial. Then for the first time, after many  years, I broke before the Lord, in tears, wept; and said bye. Often I think of these things, and miss both my parents. It still hurts when I think of all these things, and about my parents. For we live, but only once; thereafter comes the judgement. I had to learn forgive both my parents, others who may have hurt me; also even forgive myself.

So here I am again, my heart is crying; “Father forgive them! For they know not that which they have done, neither do they know that which they are doing. Father God, I choose to walk in Your forgiveness. To all those who may have meant us harm, we say, cry out you are forgiven. Dad! I forgive you, for all the negative input, you may have given me. Dad! I forgive you!”

Lord; we thank U for giving us, showing us Your Great Mercy! Help us, like Joseph; to forgive our brothers, fathers, leaders, mothers & sisters, who may have done evil against us. Dad, Abba, Father, turn that which satan meant for evil against us; You meant for Good, in order to bring it about  as it is this day, to save many people alive.We choose to walk in the abundance of Your Great Mercy and Love. Let us this day choose to forgive, even as You chose toforgive us our sins. Amen!

14 After he had buried his father, Joseph returned to Egypt, he and his brethren and all who had gone up with him.15 When Joseph’s brethren saw that their father was dead, they said, Perhaps now Joseph will hate us and will pay us back for all the evil we did to him.16 And they sent a messenger to Joseph, saying, Your father commanded before he died, saying,17 So shall you say to Joseph: Forgive (take up and away all resentment and all claim to requital concerning), I pray you now, the trespass of your brothers and their sin, for they did evil to you. Now, we pray you, forgive the trespass of the servants of your father’s God. And Joseph wept when they spoke thus to him.18 Then his brothers went and fell down before him, saying, See, we are your servants (your slaves)!19 And Joseph said to them, Fear not; for am I in the place of God? [Vengeance is His, not mine.]20 As for you, you thought evil against me, but God meant it for good, to bring about that many people should be kept alive, as they are this day.21 Now therefore, do not be afraid. I will provide for and support you and your little ones. And he comforted them [imparting cheer, hope, strength] and spoke to their hearts [kindly].22 Joseph dwelt in Egypt, he and his father’s household. And Joseph lived 110 years.(Gen 50:15-22 Amp).

To be Contd

 

 

Leave a Reply

