Valley of Dry Bones1

Valley of Dry Bones 1

 Scripture

The Dry Bones Live

37 The hand of the Lord came upon me and brought me out in the Spirit of the Lord, and set me down in the midst of the valley; and it was full of bones. 2 Then He caused me to pass by them all around, and behold, there were very many in the open valley; and indeed they were very dry. 3 And He said to me, “Son of man, can these bones live?”skeletal system

So I answered, “O Lord God, You know.”

4 Again He said to me, “Prophesy to these bones, and say to them, ‘O dry bones, hear the word of the Lord! 5 Thus says the Lord God to these bones: “Surely I will cause breath to enter into you, and you shall live. 6 I will put sinews on you and bring flesh upon you, cover you with skin and put breath in you; and you shall live. Then you shall know that I am the Lord.” ’ ”

7 So I prophesied as I was commanded; and as I prophesied, there was a noise, and suddenly a rattling; and the bones came together, bone to bone. 8 Indeed, as I looked, the sinews and the flesh came upon them, and the skin covered them over; but there was no breath in them.

9 Also He said to me, “Prophesy to the breath, prophesy, son of man, and say to the breath, ‘thus says the Lord God: “Come from the four winds, O breath, and breathe on these slain, that they may live.” ’ ” 10 So I prophesied as He commanded me, and breath came into them, and they lived, and stood upon their feet, an exceedingly great army.

11 Then He said to me, “Son of man, these bones are the whole house of Israel. They indeed say, our bones are dry, our hope is lost, and we ourselves are cut off!’ 12 Therefore prophesy and say to them, ‘Thus says the Lord God: “Behold, O My people, I will open your graves and cause you to come up from your graves, and bring you into the land of Israel. 13 Then you shall know that I am the Lord, when I have opened your graves, O My people, and brought you up from your graves. 14 I will put My Spirit in you, and you shall live, and I will place you in your own land. Then you shall know that I, the Lord, have spoken it and performed it,” says the Lord.’ ” (See Ezek 37:1-14 NKJ).

Backdrop

Ezekiel had been one of the Exile prophets during Nebuchadnezzar’s Babylonian reign. Israel sinned against God. They started serving, worshipping  false, foreign gods. The Lord sent His prophets  to warn her, of their destruction, which lay before them, should they reject God. Despite all His messages, and warnings, Israel still hardened their hearts, in their rebellion towards God. Due to their constant disobedience, they lost their nation, their kingdom.

Israel being ignorant of God’s warnings, were exiled and carried away,  from their promised land. They forgot their God, and paid for their disobedience. Ezekiel, had been carried away; with backsliding Israel. During his thirtieth year;  he had being anointed a prophet through God’s call upon his life.

Now [when I was] in [my] thirtieth year, in the fourth month, in the fifth day of the month, as I was in the midst of captivity beside the river Chebar [in Babylonia], the heavens were opened and I saw visions of God. On the fifth day of the month, which was in the fifth year of King Jehoiachin’s captivity. The word of the Lord came expressly to Ezekiel the priest, the son of Buzi, in the land of the Chaldeans by the river Chebar; and the hand of the Lord was there upon him. (Ezek 1:1-3 Amp).

Ezekiel’s Call

And he said to me, “Son of man, stand on your feet, and I will speak with you.” And as he spoke to me, the Spirit entered into me and set me on my feet, and I heard him speaking to me. And he said to me, “Son of man, I send you to the people of Israel, to nations of rebels, who have rebelled against me. they and their fathers have transgressed against me to this very day. The descendants also are iimpudent and stubborn: I send you to them, and you shall say to them, ‘Thus says the Lord God.’ And whether they hear or refuse to hear (for they are a rebellious house) they will know that a prophet has been among them. And you, son of man, be not afraid of them, nor be afraid of their words, though briers and thorns are with you and you sit on scorpions. Be not afraid of their words, nor be dismayed at their looks, for they are a rebellious house. And you shall speak my words to them whether they hear or refuse to hear, for they are a rebellious house.

“But you, son of man, hear what I say to you. Be not rebellious like that rebellious house; open your mouth and eat what I give you.” And when I looked, behold, a hand was stretched out to me, and behold, a scroll of a book was in it. 10 And he spread it before me. And it had writing on the front and on the back, and there were written on it words of lamentation and mourning and woe (Ezek 2:1-10 ESV; see also Ezek 3:1-12, 14-21, Ezek 3:27 & Ezek 3:25-27).

Often when the Lord starts dealing with His people; He first lets His servants the prophets know what His plans would be. He sends them to give His people opportunity, to repent, make right with Him. He prepares their hearts, for what He is about to do. He gives His prophets spiritual insight. Through them; He gives dreams, visions and understanding .His seers, eyes are open, giving them the ability to see into the spiritual realm.

The Lord may even take them up, through His Holy Spirit, positioning them in such a way, for them to see the times or seasons, from God’s insight. We are seated in heavenly places with Christ. We are able to reign and rule with Him. The prophetic office, is usually anointed, appointed, and called by and through God alone. He anoints His servants, the prophets, to see in the spiritual dimension.

Paul prayed along this line, in his letter to the Ephesians. He asked the Lord to open the eyes of our understanding, so we would be able to discern the times and seasons we are living in. These abilities, He has given to the prophets of old. He also gave them the ability to see into the distant future. Even today He, (the Lord), opens the eyes of the understanding, of His prophets, seers, men and women of God, during our time. He reveals these matters to them, so they would be able to prepare His Body, the church.

The Vision

(Scripture Reference, see Ezek 37:1-14)

Here Ezekiel is taken up, and the Lord shows him the valley of dry bones. These bones were scattered all around and across the valley. He also noticed these bones were bleached and very dry. In his vision, he hears the Lord, command him to speak, prophesying over them. The testimony of Jesus is the spirit of prophecy. (See Rev 19:10).

The Lord asks Ezekiel if these bones would be able to live. We know that is impossible. I mean; how are bones bleached white and dry, able to live? ‘Tis a very good question, although we know, dry bones are not able to live. Ezekiel, answers saying: “Lord; You know!” The Lord knew what was going to happen; therefore He commands His prophet; “Prophesy to these bones; say to them; ‘O dry bones hear the word of the Lord!

These bones symbolize fallen Israel, as spiritual Israel; we, who make up the Body of Christ, are also able to relate to these dry bones. As the Lord restores Israel, He also shall restore us as the Bride of Christ. We see God is always ready and willing to restore us to Him, through Christ Jesus, our Lord. It is written: –

“_ _ _I will restore or replace for you the years that the locust has eaten _ the hopping locust, the stripping locust, and the crawling locust, My great army which I sent among you. And you shall eat in plenty and be satisfied and praise the Name of the Lord your God, Who has dealt wondrously with you. And My people shall never be put to shame. And you shall know, understand, and realize that I am in the midst of Israel and that I the Lord am your God and there is none else. My people shall not be put to shame.”(Joel 2:25-27 Amp).

But how then, is the House of Israel, and of Spiritual Israel, to be restored? The Lord uninvitingly says they shall live. He commands Ezekiel, to speak life over these bones. Through Christ Jesus, we are able to call that, which is not as though it were. This is what the Lord spoke over Abraham. God changed Abram’s name from high or exalted father, to Abraham thus calling him father of a multitude.

Our Lord; therefore instructed His prophet: –

“Son of man Prophesy to these bones_ _ _ say to them; o you dry bones, hear the word of the Lord! _ _ _ I will cause breath and spirit to enter you! _ _ _ you shall live! _ _ _ I will lay sinews on you! _ _ _ bring flesh on you!_ _ _ cover you with skin!_ _ _ Put breath and spirit in you_ _ _”(Ezek37:3-

While Ezekiel watched, acting upon the Lord’s Word given to him in the vision, he spoke the Word. During this vision, he saw how the bones joined themselves one to another. Each Bone joined to its bone.  He saw how the sinews and their skin joined, knitted together; covering each other. It had been a wondrous sight, for him to behold. Yet something was not quite right.

He saw this sight, yet, these bodies lay dead still. They did not move further. “What is wrong?” He thought to himself. “What kind of help is this? There is no breath or life in these bodies! Should there not be some kind breath, or life, in these bodies? These fallen soldiers cannot spare Israel. They are of no use. They are just, well; how do I say; lifeless!”

Next it seems, as if his Lord, still wants to say something! Calling to him; “Son of man!” He hears Him. “What is this? Am I imagining it? There it is again! All the more clearly;” thinking to himself! “This is impossible!” He listens carefully; “Son of man!”

More urgently and vehemently he hears; “Son of man!” After a while, he answers; “Yes Lord!”

“Can these bones live?”  Ezekiel answers, “Lord, You know!” The Lord tells him; “Speak to, prophesy to the breath and spirit, son of man, and say to the breath and the spirit. ‘Thus says the Lord God: Come from the four winds, O breath and spirit! Breathe upon these slain that they may live!’” (See Ezek 37:9-10 Amp.).

Even, as he spoke, breath came upon these dead bodies, these corpses, they began to live. They became a great army, a great host. They are the whole house of both; natural and spiritual Israel. Often we may have said; “all seems hopeless; the Lord will not come through for us.”  We start believing satan’s lie, instead of humbling our self in the Lord’s presence, and under the shadow of His wings.

Who is he that condemns? Who brings a charge against the elect? God through Christ Jesus justifies us. Rather it is Christ Jesus who died in our place, through whom, we have life. The Lord gives us life! Even as Ezekiel, carried out the instructions, given him. He spoke to the house of Israel’s dry bones, saying you shall live. We also are commanded to speak life, over Spiritual Israel, the Bride of Christ.

Thus says the Lord the God of Hosts: “Behold you dry bones, hear the Word of the Lord: Surely I will cause breath to enter into you and you shall live_ _ _!”(Ezek 37:5).

Leave a Reply

